Fun Friday Fact #18

Due to an oversight at the end of the First World War, Andorra found itself engaged in two world wars at the same time.

The tiny Pyrenean state’s┬áname was omitted from the Treaty of Versailles (1919), meaning that the 11-man national army remained technically at war with Germany. The outbreak of the Second World War in 1939 placed too much of a strain on the Andorran resources. The beleaguered country hastily signed a private treaty with Germany, finally concluding the First World War and confirming its neutrality in the Second. In benching itself for the second global conflict, Andorra joined a long line of heroes including Ireland, Switzerland and those once mighty empires of Spain and Portugal.

Note: neutral status provided no guarantees from attack. For example Britain invaded the neutral Iceland, whilst Hitler was quick to take over the low countries and add them to his treasure chest.

That was fun now, wasn’t it? I’m sorry to inform you, my beloved readers, that this will be my final Fun Friday Fact. It’s been real, and I have thoroughly enjoyed the journey, but I want to turn my attention elsewhere. I know you’ll understand. Goodbye, friends, goodbye.

11 Comments

Filed under The Second World War - Fun Friday Facts, Trivia

11 responses to “Fun Friday Fact #18

  1. Alex

    No!!! Last ever Fun Friday Fact? How could you leave us? It’s not you, it’s me!

  2. Oh. That’s too bad. Hope you will share the “elsewhere” too. Anyway, have a look at the official date for ending WWII between France and Belgium. It might surprise you. Have fun, and Happy Easter.

    • I share everything I do. Well, if not everything then most things! Tried to look up official date for ending WWII between France and Belgium but came up with nothing. Can you elucidate?

  3. I’m going to miss Fun Facts Fridays..Fair well in all that you do.

  4. What does that mean? You are going to stop blogging all together?

  5. Rob

    I feel so barren and empty! What will fill my waking hours? Tell me this ‘friend’.

  6. I’ll miss the Fun Friday Facts, just like everyone else. But at least they were fun while they lasted. Best of luck with whatever you’ve got in mind for the future. Like the others who’ve left messages here, I’m just hoping we’ll be hearing more from you in due course.

Leave a Reply

