The Aviators, by Helen Jane Long

Every now and again one is fortunate enough to stumble upon a piece of music that catches one by the heartstrings and does not let go. Today I found exactly that in ‘The Aviators’, by Helen Jane Long. You may have heard a part of it in the BA ‘to fly, to serve’ adverts.

Whilst listening on youtube I found that the music – which is featured on the BA advert mentioned in a previous post – was being compared to Hans Zimmer / Klaus Badelt’s ‘He’s A Pirate’ as if this was in some way a bad thing. It was suggested that Long should be ashamed of herself for taking the credit for somebody else’s genius. I am afraid I do not share this view. A good piece of music is as much about how it makes you feel, as it is about how it sounds. Anybody sensible who has listened to the two tracks will see that there is no meaningful comparison to be made between them, if indeed there is a comparison to be made at all.

I am a methodical writer – after the initial trembling excitement of a new idea, rarely do I feel particularly happy about what I am producing. Writing is a slog for me. I don’t mind, that’s just the way it is; I sit down, and I get it done. Music is my crutch – I would have produced nothing without it – and on occasions I am lucky enough to be reminded of the reason why I write; to stir the passions in others as others have stirred the passions in me.

I have written 2,500 words today. Each one of them is thanks to a beautiful piece of music by Helen Jane Long.

14 Comments

Filed under Rants, Raves & Reviews, Raves

14 responses to “The Aviators, by Helen Jane Long

  1. Fernando

    I cannot see why people say it’s a copy. Helen’s The Aviators is fantastic, period. Ever since I saw the first commercial from BA I’ve been waiting for the release in iTunes. Yesterday I bought it. It’s insanely great.

  2. A beautiful piece. Thanks for posting 🙂

  3. pixiekikiemh

    i love this song and i’ve been looking 4 it for ages. if anyone finds the notes could u plz post it on youtube.

  4. Susan Balducci

    Delicious piece of music. Helen Jane Long has a new fan. Thank you.

  5. Love the music and video, too – the plane flapping its wings like a creature from the dinosaur age

  6. Success through perserverance. Without the dedication to anything… Nothing is resulted. Beautiful music and video.
    Thanks for the visit to my blog, by the way.

  7. I leave Pandora on all day, often tuned to Solo Piano Radio, and sometimes I hear Helen Jane Long, usually tracks from PORCELAIN. I find myself always hitting the Like button when I heard them.

    I didn’t know The Aviators. It made up my mind for me: I am off to iTunes to make a purchase. 🙂

    (By the way, I agree with your comments about writing and the assistance music provides.)

    Thanks, Lindsay

Leave a Reply

