A Christmas Truce

Pale winter’s sun with her sweet dwindling light, 
To bed crept she and hid her weary face,
Whilst fell around her darkness bleak as space.
What madness might have met that fateful sight,
But for one faint and gentle spec of white?
A single flake of snow with God’s good grace,
Untouched as yet by death or human waste,
Did fair remind the world of wrong from right.
Now to this ghost both friend and foe gave chase,
With haste across the lines that had been set,
And in each other’s hearts they found a place,
To rest, amidst a merry Christmas fete,
So true the violent times could not erase, 
The mem’ries of when warring brothers met.
12 Comments

Filed under Beyond The Grave, My War Poetry

12 responses to “A Christmas Truce

  1. great piece of poetry well done it was lovely to read.

  2. I agree, a lovely read. Old world feel to every bit of its language. Gentle, wise.

  3. Thanks peeps! Glad you enjoyed it! X

  4. G’day Edward, as you probably know by now I enjoy the sonnet form & I must say I truly enjoyed ‘A Christmas Truce’, well done.

  5. this sounds like something my father’d recite to me. i was totally captivated. lovely!

  6. wonderful piece of poetry! Tells a touching story.

  7. Thank you. It remains – for me – one of the enduring images of the First World War.

  8. Those are tender lines. I wrote one on that Xmas football match but a poetry competition ‘filter’ person commented that nothing new could be said about that event – now that it is so far away. I don’t agree and think it good that each generation revisits. My dad was wounded at the Somme – it is one way to keep in touch with the old chap

    • I’m glad you liked it.

      That is deeply upsetting really. I cannot believe that anyone would say something like that, especially as the Christmas Truce is one area of the Great War about which historians know very little. For example it is not even certain whether or not the thing actually happened; there are some postcards saying ‘I heard about a football match’ but very few saying ‘I played in a football match’.

      I for one do not believe that any event in the First World War has been ‘talked to death’ so to speak.

      And as for your father – what a great way to keep in touch.

  9. Very touching, very articulate, very gifted…

Leave a Reply

